Skip to main content


1. Best Practices Award in Urban Regeneration and Public Spaces

Urban regeneration brings back underutilized assets and redistributes opportunities, increasing urban prosperity and quality of life. Public space is considered the backbone of cities. They are crucial for achieve sustainable cities and inclusive communities: providing ecosystem services, improving health and wellbeing, ensuring social inclusion and economic exchange.
This category caters for addressing the cities of the future; finding ways in which cities ensure to provide affordable housing and access to food, water, clean air, mobility, public life and nature for continuously more numerous urban populations.

Learn more

2. The Most Beautiful, Innovative and Iconic Building

Sustainable and iconic building development require holistic local and life cycle data analysis in designing true bioclimatic and responsive developments, to make it a distinctive mark in the world. They balance preserving resources, habitats, heritage, visual appeal and optimizing wellbeing, quality, affordability, and performance.
This category caters to recognize most iconic, smart, innovative, human-centric sustainable projects that combine green design and construction practices with modern, intelligent architectural excellence in an innovative eco-human-cultural approach.

Learn more

3. Best Practices Award in Sustaining Urban Food Systems

Food security is defined as the state of having reliable access to a sufficient quantity of affordable and nutritious food.
This category caters for systemic change and much improved access to food by all people while maintaining a strong connection between food production, storage and supply to local, regional and global beneficiaries showing an impact on human settlements.

Learn more

4. Best Practices Award in Addressing Climate Change and Reducing Pollution

Living environment is defined as the natural world, as a whole or in a particular geographical area, especially as affected by human activity.
This category caters for solutions addressing climate change, pollution reduction, and the protection of a thriving biodiversity including long-term multilevel governance mechanics, stakeholder engagement, disaster management, and circular economy.

Learn more

5. Best Practices Award in Urban Infrastructure Planning and Management

Infrastructure is defined as the basic physical and organizational structures and facilities (e.g. buildings, roads, power supplies, etc.) needed for the operation of a society or enterprise.
This category caters for finding adaptable, local and resilient solutions, that will enable longer lifecycle of infrastructure, due to the fast-paced transformations in line with the 4th industrial revolution relying on innovative, futuristic and sustainable projects improving living conditions.

Learn more

Who can apply?

The award is open to all sectors: national and regional governments, local authorities and their associations, non-governmental organizations, multilateral agencies, community based organizations, research and academic institutions, public and private foundations, media entities and individuals.

Download Award Handbook

Recognizing excellence

Call for applications is officially open for the 13th cycle.